Maya K.
Senior Full-Stack Developer
Toptal publishes no rate card. What clients report is three layers: a $500 refundable deposit, a $79 monthly subscription, and a blended $60 to $150 an hour, past $200 for specialized roles.
The layer nobody divides is the subscription. Flat fees are not neutral. Spread over the hours you actually buy, that $79 costs a five-hour month $15.80 an hour and a full-time month $0.49 an hour. Same fee, 32x apart.
Below is that arithmetic in full: what the contractor actually receives at each reported markup, how the rate compares to a loaded in-house salary from BLS data, the week where full time stops making sense, and the cases where Toptal is still the right thing to buy.
Find your freelancer
PreviewYour top matches
2 of 3 can start this week All 3 available this month Flexible start dates
Senior Full-Stack Developer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Product Designer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Conversion Copywriter
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Growth Marketer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Video Editor
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Small-Business Bookkeeper
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Executive Virtual Assistant
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Technical SEO Consultant
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Google Ads Consultant
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Meta Ads Consultant
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Senior Data Scientist
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Senior DevOps Engineer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Social Media Manager
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Management Consultant
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Freelance CPA
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Direct-Response Copywriter
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Senior QA Automation Engineer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Certified Salesforce Developer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Senior UX Designer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Senior Webflow Developer
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Certified Legal Translator
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Senior Commercial Illustrator
+ 2 more on a full shortlist
Fund milestone 1 · $1,800 in escrow · $4,800 in escrow · $12,500 in escrow · released on your approval
Freelancers apply to your post and you pick who to hire.
Every Toptal figure here is what clients and review sites report for the US in 2026, because Toptal itself publishes none. We show where the sources disagree instead of picking the one that suits us, and we say plainly where Toptal is the better buy. Confirm current terms with Toptal before you commit.
The structure
Toptal bills in three layers. Two are fixed and small enough to ignore in a spreadsheet, which is exactly why they get ignored. The third carries almost all of the money. Read them separately, because they behave completely differently as your engagement grows.
| Layer | Reported amount | When it is charged | Behavior as you scale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deposit | $500, refundable | Before matching begins | One time, credited to the first invoice |
| Subscription | $79 per month | From the start of the search until you cancel | Flat, so the per-hour cost falls as you buy more |
| Hourly rate | $60 to $150+, $200+ specialized | Invoiced twice a month, Net 10 | Linear, and effectively all of your spend |
One thing to note before the arithmetic starts: the hourly figure is blended. It contains the contractor's pay, Toptal's margin and the cost of running the matching process, presented to you as a single number. You are never shown the split, which is why the next two sections reconstruct it.
The arithmetic
A flat platform fee looks like the least interesting line on the invoice. It is the most interesting one, because a fixed cost divided by a variable quantity is not fixed at all. Divide $79 by the hours you buy in a month and the subscription turns into a surcharge that punishes exactly the buyers who can least afford it.
| Hours bought in the month | Subscription per hour | Added to a $60 rate | Added to a $150 rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 hours, one small task | $15.80 | 26.33% | 10.53% |
| 10 hours | $7.90 | 13.17% | 5.27% |
| 20 hours | $3.95 | 6.58% | 2.63% |
| 40 hours, one week | $1.98 | 3.29% | 1.32% |
| 80 hours, half time | $0.99 | 1.65% | 0.66% |
| 160 hours, full time | $0.49 | 0.82% | 0.33% |
32x
The gap in per-hour subscription cost between a five-hour buyer and a full-time one. Identical fee, wildly different price for the same access.
26.33%
What the subscription adds to a $60 hourly rate on a five-hour month. A quarter again on top of the rate, for a fee most buyers never put in the model.
$7,900
Monthly spend at which the subscription finally drops below 1% of what you pay. Under that, it is a real line item, not a rounding error.
This is the part worth carrying into your decision. The subscription is regressive: it is cheapest per hour for the buyers with the largest budgets and most expensive for the founder buying a few hours of senior help. If your use case is a short, scoped task, the sticker rate understates what you pay by a margin big enough to change which platform wins your comparison.
There is a second-order effect too. Because the fee is monthly rather than per engagement, a search that stalls keeps billing. Two quiet months while you decide is $158 spent on access alone, before anyone has written a line of code.
The split
Toptal does not disclose its margin. Reported markups cluster at 30% to 50% over contractor pay, and that range is wide enough to matter, so here is what each end implies. Read these as reconstructions from reported figures, not as disclosed numbers, because they are not.
| Client pays | Contractor at 30% markup | Platform take | Contractor at 50% markup | Platform take |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $60 per hour | $46.15 | $13.85 | $40.00 | $20.00 |
| $150 per hour | $115.38 | $34.62 | $100.00 | $50.00 |
| $200 per hour | $153.85 | $46.15 | $133.33 | $66.67 |
Two things fall out of this table. First, the platform take at the top of the range, $50 an hour on a $150 rate, is itself more than the entire contractor rate on plenty of competent freelancers. Second, and more usefully: because the markup is a percentage, it scales with seniority. The more expensive the person you need, the more the intermediary earns for the same matching work. A flat percentage looks fair and behaves as a premium on exactly the hires where budgets are tightest.
Worth saying plainly: a markup is not a scandal. Vetting, matching, replacement cover and payment handling all cost real money, and somebody has to fund them. The problem is only that you cannot see the number, so you cannot tell whether you are paying 30% or 50% for it. That is a disclosure complaint, not a pricing one, and it is the reason this page exists.
The benchmark
Comparing an hourly contractor rate to a salary is the most common mistake in this decision, because a salary is not what an employee costs. BLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation puts private industry wages at 70.0% of total compensation, so benefits add a multiplier of about 1.43. Applied to the May 2025 BLS figures for software developers, the picture looks like this.
| BLS 15-1252, May 2025 | Annual wage | Loaded at 1.43 | Loaded monthly | Loaded hourly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10th percentile | $82,460 | $117,917.80 | $9,826.48 | $56.69 |
| Median | $135,980 | $194,451.40 | $16,204.28 | $93.49 |
| 90th percentile | $214,670 | $306,978.10 | $25,581.51 | $147.59 |
Now put the two side by side. The reported Toptal band of $60 to $150 an hour has a midpoint of $105, which sits 12.3% above the loaded median in-house developer at $93.49. That is a much smaller premium than the usual complaint about Toptal pricing suggests, and for that 12.3% you are not paying recruiting fees, you are not carrying benefits administration, and you are not funding a severance conversation if the work ends.
Notice also where the band lands. The bottom of the Toptal range, $60, is close to the loaded cost of a 10th-percentile developer at $56.69. The top, $150, is almost exactly the loaded cost of a 90th-percentile developer at $147.59. The range is not arbitrary. It brackets the real US employment market from bottom to top, which is a reasonable sign that the pricing is anchored to something rather than invented.
The breaking point
The premium that looks small on a 12-hour task compounds on a 173-hour month. Here is a full-time month and year at each reported rate, measured against that loaded median in-house developer of $194,451.40 a year.
| Hourly rate | Full-time month (173.33 hrs) | Full year | Versus loaded in-house median |
|---|---|---|---|
| $60 | $10,400 | $124,800 | 0.64x, cheaper |
| $90 | $15,600 | $187,200 | 0.96x, line ball |
| $150 | $26,000 | $312,000 | 1.60x |
| $200 | $34,667 | $416,000 | 2.14x |
The crossover sits at about $93 an hour. Below it, buying full-time hours through a platform genuinely costs less than employing someone at the median, benefits included. Above it you are paying a premium for flexibility, and the premium gets steep fast: at $150 an hour you are spending 1.60 times a loaded in-house salary on a person who leaves when the contract closes and takes the context with them.
Read the other way, the same numbers tell you how much senior contractor time a budget buys. $194,451.40 a year, the loaded median, is 24.9 hours a week at $150 an hour and 41.5 hours a week at $90. If the work you need is genuinely under about 25 hours a week, the flexible option is also the cheap one, even at the top of the band.
The commitment
Add the reported deposit to the first month of subscription and you are $579 into the relationship before a single billable hour exists. The deposit is refundable and credited against your first invoice, so it is not lost money if you hire. It is committed money, which is a different thing when you are still deciding.
$579
Deposit plus the first month of access, committed before the search produces anybody.
9.65 hrs
What that same $579 buys in actual delivered work at the bottom of the range, $60 an hour.
Net 10
Reported terms, invoiced twice a month. Cash leaves faster than a standard Net 30 vendor.
The billing cadence deserves a line of its own. Twice-monthly invoicing on Net 10 means an engagement that runs $20,000 a month asks for roughly $10,000 every two weeks, due inside ten days. For a venture-funded company that is unremarkable. For a bootstrapped one running on customer receipts, it is a working capital question worth answering before you sign, not after the first invoice lands.
Check the source
Toptal's own pricing page carries no hourly rates, no deposit figure and no subscription amount. It describes the model, states that there is no recruiting fee and explains the trial, then routes you to a conversation. That is a deliberate choice, and it means every dollar figure in circulation, including the ones on this page, comes from clients and review sites rather than from Toptal.
| Figure | Published by Toptal | Reported by clients and reviewers |
|---|---|---|
| Hourly rate | Not published | $60 to $150+, $200+ specialized |
| Monthly subscription | Not published | $79 per month |
| Deposit | Not published | $500, refundable. Some current sources say it is no longer listed |
| Markup on contractor pay | Not published | 30% to 50%, reported |
| Recruiting fee | $0, stated | Consistent with reports |
| Trial | Stated, no charge if not satisfied | Up to two weeks |
The deposit row is the one to watch. Several sources still quote $500 while at least one notes the current subscription terms no longer list it, which is exactly the kind of drift you get when a vendor stops publishing and the internet keeps quoting an old figure at each other. Ask at signup and treat any number you read, here included, as a starting point for that question.
Be honest
We compete with Toptal, so take this section as the part where we argue against ourselves. There are real cases where their model is the correct purchase and a cheaper option would be a false economy.
When the requirement is narrow, senior and urgent, a curated bench with a matching team attached is worth paying for. Under about 25 hours a week, the premium is not even a premium once you load an in-house salary properly.
Above roughly $7,900 a month the subscription vanishes into rounding, and the fixed layers stop mattering. All of the regressive arithmetic above works in your favor at scale.
The two-week trial with no charge for unsatisfactory work is a genuine risk reversal, and it is more than most marketplaces put on the table. You keep the work produced either way.
Their screening is real and the shortlist arrives fast. If your alternative is reading 60 proposals yourself, the markup is buying back hours you do not have.
Where it stops working is the long full-time seat. At $150 an hour, a year of full-time work costs 1.60 times a loaded median in-house developer, and at the end of it the institutional knowledge walks out with the contractor. That is the case where the flexibility you are paying for has already stopped being worth anything, because you are not using it.
Our numbers
We run a four-stage vetting process and a hand-picked shortlist, which is the same job Toptal does. The difference is in the two fixed layers and in whether you can see the split before you commit.
| Layer | Toptal, as reported | SuperGig |
|---|---|---|
| Deposit to start | $500, refundable | None |
| Monthly access fee | $79 | None |
| Platform fee | Blended into the rate, not disclosed | 10% flat, shown before you commit |
| Rate visibility | Quoted after a call | Published per freelancer |
| Payment protection | Invoiced twice monthly, Net 10 | Milestone escrow, released on your approval |
Run the earlier arithmetic against that. An $85 an hour developer here bills $93.50 all in with the 10% fee, which lands within a dollar of the $93.49 loaded median in-house cost calculated from BLS data. It is a coincidence of rounding rather than a designed number, but it is a useful way to hold the comparison: at that rate you are paying roughly what the person would cost you as an employee, without the hiring, the benefits administration or the exit.
The honest concession is that we are a smaller bench. If your requirement is a genuinely rare specialization, a larger network has a better chance of holding somebody who matches it. That is a real reason to pay the premium, and it is the reason we listed the cases above.
Questions
Toptal publishes no rate card. Clients consistently report three layers: a $500 refundable deposit credited to the first invoice, a $79 monthly subscription that runs until you cancel, and a blended hourly rate of $60 to $150 for standard roles, rising above $200 for specialized talent. A full-time month at $150 an hour comes to about $26,000.
Reported client rates run $60 to $150 an hour for standard engineering, design and finance roles, and $200 or more for scarce specializations. The figure you are quoted is blended: it contains the contractor pay, the platform margin and the cost of matching, presented as one number. Toptal does not break the three apart.
Yes. A $79 monthly subscription is reported once you move forward with a talent search, and it continues until you cancel. Because it is flat, it behaves as a per-hour surcharge that shrinks as you buy more hours: $15.80 an hour on a five-hour month, and $0.49 an hour on a full-time one.
It is a refundable deposit taken before matching begins, credited toward your first invoice if you hire and returned if you walk away. Note that some current sources report it is no longer listed in the subscription terms, so confirm it at signup rather than assuming either way.
Toptal does not disclose it. Reported markups of 30% to 50% imply that a $60 client rate returns $40.00 to $46.15 to the contractor, and a $150 client rate returns $100.00 to $115.38. The platform take is therefore roughly $14 to $20 at the bottom of the range and $35 to $50 at the top.
No. Browsing costs nothing, but starting a search carries a reported $79 monthly subscription and, historically, a $500 refundable deposit. The two-week trial is free only in the sense that you are not billed for the work if you end the engagement inside it. The subscription still runs during that period.
Compared to a loaded in-house developer, less than people assume. The May 2025 BLS median software developer wage of $135,980, loaded at 1.43 for benefits, works out to $93.49 an hour. The midpoint of the reported $60 to $150 Toptal range is $105, which is 12.3% above that, with no recruiting, benefits or severance attached.
It is worth it for scoped, senior, short engagements where speed and vetting matter more than rate. It stops being worth it as a way to staff a long-term full-time seat: at $150 an hour, full time costs about $312,000 a year, which is 1.60 times a loaded median in-house developer for someone who leaves when the contract ends.
Clients report invoices twice a month on Net 10 terms, so the money leaves faster than a standard Net 30 vendor cycle. Combined with the deposit and the subscription, budget for roughly $579 committed before a single billable hour is delivered, then two invoices a month thereafter.
Toptal offers a trial of up to two weeks where you are not charged for the work if the match does not suit you, and you keep anything produced. It is a risk reversal on the contractor, not on the platform fees: the subscription and any deposit sit outside it.
Write the brief you were going to discuss with a sales team and see who comes back. Named developers with published hourly rates and portfolios, screened through four stages, a flat 10% project fee shown before you commit, and milestone escrow that holds the money until you approve the work. No deposit and no monthly subscription.
Business is $349 per month for a project post on the SuperGig project board, with no project fee.